Recent News

New Lifetime Achievement Award among honors presented to family businesses

Posted in ,   |  May 2, 2023

A Sioux Falls family with a half-century history of business success has been named winners of the first Lifetime Achievement Award from the Prairie Family Business Association.

For the first time in the organization’s 31-year history, the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Craig and Pat Lloyd, owners of Lloyd Cos.

Second-generation owners include sisters Liz Lloyd, Christie Ernst and Mary Lloyd-Huber and their cousin Chris Thorkelson. Family leadership includes Craig Lloyd, board chair; Thorkelson, president and CEO; and Ernst, executive vice president of property management.

“This award is presented to a family who has made significant and meaningful contributions to our association and its members, and the Lloyd family exemplifies that in every way,” executive director Stephanie Larscheid said. “We were honored to present this to them and to create a new award in their name.”

The Lloyd All In Award: Craig and Kristin Snyder of VIKOR Teleconstruction

The new Lloyd All In Award will be awarded to a family who “leans all into their family business and to Prairie Family Business Association, just as the Lloyd family has done,” Larscheid said.

“The All In recipient is willing to learn through PFBA programs, through connecting with fellow families and for their willingness to show up and invest in their family and their business.”

The inaugural Lloyd All In Award was presented to Craig and Kristin Snyder of VIKOR Teleconstruction.

The Snyders are the founders of VIKOR Teleconstruction. Their four children are involved in the business as well as Craig Snyder’s sister, Emily Kennington. VIKOR family leadership includes Craig Snyder, founder and CEO; Jonah Snyder, vice president of operations; Emily Kennington, chief administrative officer; Gabe Messler, director of business intelligence and analytics; and Ammon Snyder, director of fleet and asset manager.

“Since joining Prairie Family Business Association less than a year ago, the Snyder family has gone ‘all in,’” Larscheid said. “They attended the Next Gen Retreat, Board Bootcamp, have joined affinity peer groups and are investing time into the family aspect of their business and their lives.”

Heritage Award: Hopkins family of CorTrust Bank

The Heritage Award is presented to a business that has thrived for multiple generations for at least 75 years. This year’s winner, CorTrust Bank, was founded in 1930, marking 93 years in business this year.

CorTrust ownership and leadership includes second generation Boyd and Dody Hopkins. Third generation includes president and CEO Jack Hopkins and CorTrust Mortgage president Todd Hopkins, both based in Sioux Falls. Fourth-generation leadership includes McKinzie Hopkins, senior vice president, based in the Twin Cities.

“Our purpose at Prairie Family Business Association is to help family businesses thrive through generations, and this honor reflects the dedication and hard work it takes to achieve that,” Larscheid said. “We’ve enjoyed seeing the multigenerational success of CorTrust and know there is much more ahead.”

Vicki Clarke Award: Steffes family of Steffes Corp.

The Vicki Clarke Prairie Family Business of the Year Award honors a family business that:

  • Makes valuable contributions to the community through leadership roles, volunteer services and/or financial support.
  • Demonstrates pride in the family business and shows a nurturing caring spirit towards associates and employees.
  • Shows genuine caring for the personal well-being of employees, recognizing their contribution to the success of the business.
  • Is recognized for honesty and integrity in business relations with employees and customers in advertising and providing an honest value to all in the community.
  • Demonstrates proven success and growth of the family business since its founding.

This award has been presented since 2004, and this year’s winner is the Steffes family, owners of Dickinson, North Dakota-based Steffes Corp., a lean-operating original equipment manufacturer.

The owners include co-founders and second generation Paul and Laurie Steffes. Third-generation owners include Suzi Sobolik, Kyle Steffes and Katie Harrington.

“The Vicki Clarke Award is selected by peer family business owners, which speaks so highly to the work the Steffes family has done both to grow their business and to transition in ownership,” Larscheid said. “We’re excited to see how their next generation continues to evolve this business.”

The awards were presented at the Prairie Family Business Association annual conference, which drew  500 participants from 25 states, three countries and as far as Portugal.

Scroll to Top